Billy Soistmann

What I Watched This Week (Jan. 17-Jan. 23)

In Features, What I Watched This Week on January 24, 2010 at 3:39 PM

Welcome to my new feature, What I Watched This Week. The idea is simple: Every Sunday, I list all of the movies (not TV shows) I’ve seen that week, whether it be in the theater or at home. With each movie will be either a short reaction, thought, etc. or a link to my full review. So, what did I watch this week?

1/19 Juno: I finally got around to seeing this on Blu-Ray and, wow, what a great movie! I was blown away with how touching this film is. Although I was put off by the over-the-top dialogue at the beginning of the film, I loved it by the end. I’m not sure how that works, but after ten minutes I was laughing out loud. And Ellen Page’s nomination for Best Actress was definitely not unwarranted. This film was moving and hilarious at the same time, with fantastic performances all around. (Literally everyone in the cast is great!)

1/22Bass Ackwards:This film premiered at the Sundance Film Festival yesterday, but, unfortunately I was stuck watching it on YouTube. It went better than I expected though, and I enjoyed the movie. See my full review.

1/22Duplicity: I was not very interested in this movie. I mean, the smart spy/thriller angle appeals to me, but the trailer pushed the romance angle between Clive Owen and Julia Roberts. However, I really liked it. To start with, the opening credits were hilarious and beautiful at the same time. In fact, the entire movie was shot and edited masterfully. Another strong point was the banter between Clive Owen and Julia Roberts, who had excellent on-screen chemistry. The plot wasn’t too original and the mystery didn’t pay off as well as it could have, but overall, Duplicity was a very enjoyable, well-crafted spy thriller with a good love story.

1/23Up In the Air: I saw this film last night after all the Oscar buzz it has been getting and it doesn’t disappoint. Easily one of the best films of the year. Watch for my full review later tonight in the near future.

Leave a Reply

