Billy Soistmann

Figure in the Snow

In Blog on February 6, 2010 at 12:33 AM

Earlier tonight, a large snowstorm hit the Eastern Seaboard. My school cancelled yesterday, in anticipation. (Ironically, the storm didn’t start until several hours after school should have ended.) I was getting ready to call it a night, so I took the dog out and realized that we already had more than a foot of snow! I grabbed my Flip video camera and went back out to get some shots.

In the bitter cold, I got some decent footage, but nothing that great. Then, I walked out into the middle of the street and pointed the camera straight down it. I expected a cool shot, but was quickly disappointed. In any event, I started recording. Suddenly, I realized that there was a figure walking toward me. At first I thought it was my imagination, just a dot on the screen, so I looked up – and there he was: a lone man slowly heading down the street.

So I kept the camera rolling as he got closer and closer. I thought for a minute that I should probably stop video-taping him, but I kept going anyway. Slowly, he approached. When do I stop? Eventually, as he came within talking range, I moved the camera and went back inside.

Here’s the shot I got:

I have no idea who this man was, where he came from, or where he was going, all I have are those images. There’s some kind of magic that, the mystery behind the shot.

Leave a Reply

