Billy Soistmann

Superbowl Movie Trailer Roundup

In News, Sports, Television, Trailers on February 7, 2010 at 7:07 PM

[Due to WordPress.com’s limitations on embedding objects, this post will not display correctly on my homepage, only on the post’s specific page, so please go here to view the videos in their entirety. Sorry for the inconvenience.]

Well, that’s it for Super Bowl 44. Overall, the trailers were good. Not much new but I want to see all but the last two. It was a good game, too. The Colts dominated at the beginning, but the Saints pulled through in the end.

(I blogged these live during the broadcast, hence the reverse chronological order.)

The Crazies (February 26th): This is the first I’ve seen of this zombie flick, a remake of the Romero film of the same name. Like I said, I’m not a horror fan, so I don’t plan on seeing this one. Anyway, it doesn’t look that promising. I didn’t see anything unique in the trailer, but hopefully it will prove me wrong and be another addition to the “zombie renaissance” of the past few years.

The Back-Up Plan (April 23rd): What the hell was that?! That had nothing to do with the movie. There were no plot points, nothing about the main characters, even. I mean, it was some lady giving birth in a kiddy pool. Maybe the film’s audience will like this trailer, but there’s got to be a better marketing strategy.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

The Pacific (March 14th): I realize this isn’t a film, but miniseries are really just a twist on the regular movie format. I never got around to Band of Brothers, but this looks great. It’s incredible how much money people will throw at a project when Spielberg is involved. I mean, this is a 10-part period piece set in World War II and it looks fantastic! Hopefully, I’ll be able to catch this in March. I really should watch more miniseries.

Coming Soon

Alice in Wonderland (March 27th): Tim Burton and “Alice in Wonderland” is a match made in heaven – or some kind of weird Burtonesque netherworld. In this promo we see some more of the characters. Unsurprisingly, Johnny Depp looks great as the Mad Hatter. I’m not digging the whole look of the world, though. While the character designs are brilliant, the backgrounds aren’t convincing, but they’re not fantastical enough to be stylistically interesting, either.

Shutter Island (February 19th): This movie looks amazing. I’m not sure if I would be this excited about it if it wasn’t a Scorsese picture, but this is definitely my most-anticipated film of the year. As for the trailer, we’ve been seeing remixes of the same thing since August, and it still looks incredible.

The Wolfman (February 12th): I’m not a horror fan at all, but I can’t wait for this movie. We’ve seen this footage before, though. I love the classic monster flick vibe and that final shot in the trailer when he turns toward camera in the woods is beautiful.

Robin Hood (May 14th): Russell Crowe reunites with Gladiator helmer Ridley Scott with the legend of Robin Hood. Supposedly, the movie is very historically accurate, but why does that matter for this story. I haven’t been excited about this film, but that trailer looked awesome. Hopefully, it lives up to the likes of Gladiator and Braveheart. On a side note, this this a prequel?

Bonus Section: So, when I was finding the trailers to embed, I came across several sites that claimed that The Last Airbender, Prince of Persia, and Despicable Me had trailers during the Big Game. I’m not sure if this is just bad information or whether I actually missed them. To add to the confusion, sometimes it is unclear whether a post is a prediction of what will air or a list of what did air. In any case, here is a “bonus” section of additional trailers that may or may not have aired.

Prince of Persia (May 28th):

The Last Airbender (July 2nd):

Leave a Reply

