Billy Soistmann

What I Watched This Week (Feb. 7-Feb. 13)

In Features, What I Watched This Week on February 14, 2010 at 2:48 PM

This week, I focused on Oscar-nominated films that I didn’t have a chance to see earlier. I also had a lot of time to work on more writing for the near future while I was snowed in.

2/7The Cove: What an amazing documentary. This film combines traditional fact-based doc reporting and a thrilling narrative to great effect. See my full review.

2/8The Blind Side: I was surprised to see that this film was nominated for Best Picture, as were many film buffs, but I decided to see it before I passed judgement. In short, it was a good film, but definitely not one of the best of the year. Look for a full review next week when I will be reviewing all the Best Picture nominees.

2/10Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire: This movie has gained heavy buzz since it won both the Grand Jury Prize for drama and the Audience Award  at Sundance last year. I finally was able to see it, and it met my high expectations. The film has such an emotional affect – it is nothing short of amazing. Again, look for my full review leading up to the Oscars.

2/11A Serious Man: The Coen Brothers do it again. This film is another genre-bender that combines comedy and drama. In addition, the questions that this film asks about the meaning of life and suffering are very intriguing. I loved this film; look for a full review the week before the Oscars.

2/13Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief: I had no idea I was going to see this film, so I enjoyed going into it with virtually no knowledge beforehand. This movie had potential to be an awesome romp through Greek mythology, but was betrayed by a terrible script. Despite its shortcomings, I did enjoy the film. See my full review.

Leave a Reply

