Billy Soistmann

My List of Shame

In Blog, Features on February 15, 2010 at 1:37 PM

You know that movie – the one that everyone has seen except you? We all have several of those movies. I’ve even bluffed my way through a conversation to hide the fact that I hadn’t seen the movie up for discussion. It’s really hard, too, when you start to earn the reputation of a movie buff among your friends.

There are two criteria for this list: Either the film must be one where the majority of people have seen it OR the film is regarded as a classic and is well-known in film circles. Anyway, here is my list of shame, in no particular order.

  • Gone with the Wind
  • Billy Madison
  • Happy Gilmore
  • It’s a Wonderful Life
  • Scarface
  • Spaceballs
  • Tron
  • Blazing Saddles
  • Metropolis
  • The Big Sleep
  • 8 1/2
  • Elephant Man
  • Dune
  • American Beauty
  • The Shawshank Redemption
  • Saving Private Ryan
  • Goodfellas
  • Requiem for a Dream
  • There Will Be Blood
  • Annie Hall
  • Robocop
  • Battleship Potemkin
  • North by Northwest
  • Kill Bill
  • Reservoir Dogs
  • Pulp Fiction
  • Titanic
  • Ben Hur
  • The Untouchables
  • Blade Runner
  • La Dolce Vita
  • The Last Temptation of Christ
  • Nosferatu
  • Alien
  • Dirty Harry
  • The Exorcist
  • Mad Max 2 / The Road Warrior
  • Tokyo Story
  • The Breakfast Club
  • Se7en
  • Braveheart
  • Empire of the Sun
  • The Day of the Dead

Whew! That was good to get off my chest. I’ve added these all to my Netflix queue, so hopefully I’ll be able to see them all before the end of the year.

I was inspired to write this list after listening to an episode of my favorite movie podcast, the /Filmcast. I believe “List of Shame” was coined by Dan Trachtenberg of the Totally Rad Show.

So, what are some of the movies from your list of shame?

Leave a Reply

