Billy Soistmann

The Oscar Race(s) for Best Screenplay

In Awards on February 26, 2010 at 9:28 AM

The writing categories at the Oscars have always interested me. In years past, I have simply judged the screenplays by the films that were born out of them, but this year I’ve decided to hunt down the actual scripts for each movie. I haven’t gotten to reading them yet, but I’m certainly looking forward to it. Below are links to the 10 nominees for Best Screenplay, both Adapted and Original. Enjoy!

Original:

  • The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal
  • Inglourious Basterds – Quentin Tarantino
  • The Messenger – Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman
  • A Serious Man – Joel & Ethan Coen
  • Up – Bob PetersonPete Docter (screenplay and story) and Tom McCarthy (story)

Adapted:

  • District 9 – Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell from the short film Alive in Joburg by Neill Blomkamp
  • An Education – Nick Hornby from the book by Lynn Barber
  • In the Loop – Jesse ArmstrongSimon BlackwellArmando Iannucci and Tony Roche from the television series The Thick of It
  • Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire – Geoffrey Fletcher from the novel Push by Sapphire
  • Up in the Air – Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner from the novel by Walter Kirn

Note: When I could, I linked to officially released screenplays, but as far as I know, The MessengerUp in the Air, and District 9 were not released by their studio. I have linked to an unofficial scan of Up in the Air, but could not find the other two. I will update this post if I find them.

Leave a Reply

