Billy Soistmann

What I Watched This Week (Mar. 7-Mar. 13)

In Features, What I Watched This Week on March 14, 2010 at 3:23 PM

This week, I filmed my school’s production of High School Musical (not my choice) and took the SAT, and both of those took up a lot of my movie-watching time. I was only able to catch one film, but it was a good one. I also got a writing gig over at Atomic Popcorn, which is awesome, so this week turned out well.

3/7 – The Last Station (2009): This was the Oscar-nominated film I caught before the ceremony. It stars Christopher Plummer, Helen Mirren, James McAvoy, and Paul Giammati and focuses on the final year of Leo Tolstoy’s life. I enjoyed this movie a lot more than I expected too. It was an excellent story about life and love, that wasn’t sentimental at all. It was shot well, and featured excellent acting, especially from Mirren. Through the film, McAvoy’s character is caught in a debate between Tolstoy’s wife (Mirren) and an admirer (Giamatti) over who should receive the copyright for Tolstoy’s work. We go along with him as he learns a lesson about devotion and following your heart. Overall, it was a great movie.

Leave a Reply

